Ban Sao Nak (The House of Many Pillars)
Ban Sao Nak is a wooden house built in 1895, and it is now classified as a private museum.
It houses antiques, woven handicrafts, lacquerware, silverware and ceramics. An over-a-century saraphi tree stands proudly in front of the house.
The architecture is a blend of Burmese and Lanna (Northern Thai) architecture. The verandah is Burmese style while the overall look, including the roof, is constructed in Lanna style.
Ban Sao Nak means “the house of many pillars.” “Ban” means “house”, “Sao” means “pillars – it has no less than 116, and “Nak” means “many” in the local dialect.
Mong U San Ohn, a Burmese Mon teak merchant and the grandfather of the late Khunying Walai Leelanuj, built it in 1895. The pillars were strengthened in 1960.
Ban Sao Nak was an active reception house for the city’s guests, and was also used for ‘Khan Tok’ northern-style receptions and auspicious ceremonies, especially in the 80s during the time of Khunying Walai, the former principal of Lampang Kallayanee School.
The family of Khunying Walai also maintains Wat Tha Ma O, one of several Burmese temple still existing in Lampang.
The temple was founded in 1863 by U San Ohn and his Thai wife Tai Yuan.
6 Ratwatthana Road, Tambon Wiang Nuea, Amphoe Mueang, Lampang.
Opening hours are from 10am-5pm. Admission fee is 30 baht including beverage.
Telephone: +66 5422 7653, +668 6910 7408, 054-227-653, 086-910-7408, 081-568-0033, 081-724-4063, email@example.com, www.facebook.com/Baansaonak
GPS Coordinates: +18° 17′ 38.91″, +99° 30′ 29.16″